150 results total, viewing 25 - 36
Sept. 24, 1981: Gene Schneckloth was elected president of the North Scott School Board, succeeding James Tank. Robert Medd was voted in as vice president. more
It's hard not to be excited about the excellent plan Patrick and Jodi Reid are announcing this week for the former US Bank building in our back yard here in downtown Eldridge. more
There was a time, roughly from 2004 to 2010, that the Kilen name was synonymous with North Scott’s athletic success. more
Sept. 15, 1971: Nearly 100 citizens were present at the Eldridge City Council meeting to discuss a series of complaints against G.G.’s Pizza Place, mostly involving excessive noise. There had been a rumor that the meeting could result in a citywide curfew, although this was quickly dispelled. G.G.’s proprietor Donn Brennan appeared at the meeting and stated he believed many of the problems resulted from a lack of cooperation from the Eldridge Police Department. more
This is a reprint of Sept. 12, 2007, "Impressions": more
Annually since 1977, "Impressions" has made observations about the upcoming Iowa v. Iowa State football game. This year any prediction is trickier than most years. There are many moving parts. more
Sept. 8, 1971: A delegation of businessmen and state legislators from Scott, Clinton and Jackson counties attended a meeting of the Iowa State Highway Commission in Ames to lobby for higher priority of making U.S. 61 a four-lane highway. They received no guarantees, although a commissioner stated that they were looking at revising the five-year plan for 1972. more
It appears private business will do what government will not do re: Covid. Here's the lede for an article in the Friday, Aug. 27 Des Moines Register: more
Sept. 4, 1996: The Scott County Sesquicentennial Committee received state sanctioning for a 25-mile trails and markers program that would eventually create a recreational trail looping through rural parts of the county, connecting historically noteworthy places, as well as Scott County Park and the Mississippi River. Members of the Trails and Markers committee included Jack Hill, Greg Albansader, Marlece Allen, Vern Gielow, Tim Huey, Dan Nagle, Pat Marsh, Terry Rathje, Glorie Iaccarinio, Bernie Peeters, Marlene Lage, and Ann Mohr. more
Working with the North Scott Press this summer definitely taught me a lot. more
He grew up in a humble home on Telegraph Road in southwest Davenport and attended the now-closed H.M. Perry Elementary School. His parents went to work each day at Oscar Mayer in downtown Davenport. When it was time for junior high, he went to Walcott, and was a member of the West High Class of 1996. During his years at West, the Falcons had an undefeated season in boys' basketball and won the state tournament. His football team went 8-1 and never lost to Bettendorf. more
Eldridge city officials have been mired in the personnel issues surrounding city administrator Lisa Kotter for the past few months, but that didn’t keep city employees and volunteers from putting their best foot forward last week. more
« Prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 13 | Next »
Currently viewing stories posted within the past year.
For all older stories, please use our advanced search.